CM Trade

Download APP to receive bonus

GET

US midterm elections are about to begin

2022-11-09
426

The United States will officially usher in the midterm elections on November 8. Although it does not involve the re-election of the presidency, all 435 seats in the House of Representatives and 35 of the 100 seats in the Senate will participate in the re-election. In addition, 36 governors of the 50 U.S. states will also be re-elected.

Background introduction

The United States is one of the most typical countries that implement the system of separation of powers. The system of separation of powers refers to a system in which the legislative, executive, and judicial powers of the country are exercised independently by three corresponding agencies and check and balance each other. The 1787 U.S. Constitution stipulates that the legislative power belongs to the Congress of the United States, which consists of the Senate and the House of Representatives, the executive power belongs to the President of the United States; the judicial power belongs to the Supreme Court and the lower courts enacted and established by Congress at any time. According to the principle of checks and balances between the three powers, the U.S. Constitution also stipulates that Congress has the right to request the president to adjust policies for consideration, to approve treaties concluded by the president, to recommend and approve the appointment of the president to his executive officers, to remove the president through impeachment, and The President has the power to recommend and approve the appointment of the Supreme Court judges by the President, declare and punish treason, and impeach and try Supreme Court judges; the President has limited veto power over bills passed by Congress, the Vice President concurrently serves as the President of the Senate, and the President also has the power to pardon, to the Supreme Court. Nomination and appointment of court judges; Supreme Court justices chair the trial division of the president in impeachment trials. In addition, by convention, the Supreme Court has the power to interpret laws and declare laws enacted by Congress unconstitutional and void.

The Senate and House of Representatives make up the upper and lower houses of Congress and are the legislative branch of the federal government responsible for making laws. Senators represent the entire state, with two senators from each state, regardless of size, for a total of 100 senators, whose terms are staggered for six years. Currently, the Senate is divided equally between 50 Democrats and 50 Republicans, with the vice president (the president of the Senate) giving Democrats a majority in the Senate. The House of Representatives consists of 435 members, each representing a congressional district for a two-year term. State seats are divided by population, but each state must have at least one member. The House of Representatives currently has 220 Democrats, 212 Republicans and three vacancies. Democrats narrowly control the House and Senate.

In order to win the midterm elections, both Democrats and Republicans have spared no expense. According to foreign media reports, the cumulative advertising expenditures in this year's midterm elections are close to 10 billion US dollars, which may become the "most expensive" midterm elections in history.

Hot topic

1. Inflation and economic problems

According to a new poll jointly conducted by ABC and Ipsos, inflation and economic issues are the most concerned issues for American voters in the mid-term elections, and about half of Americans regard these two issues as their primary criteria for voting. The poll shows that 73% of Republicans prioritize these two economic issues, while 29% of Democrats believe they are a priority.

A CNN poll shows that 78% of the American people believe that the current U.S. economic situation is "bad" or "very bad", half of the people believe that the Biden administration's policies have made the economy worse, and only 32% The public approves of the Biden administration's approach to tackling inflation. Since the beginning of this year, inflation in the United States has reached the highest level in more than 40 years, and rising prices have caused a sharp increase in the cost of living of the American people. In order to curb the continuation of inflation, the Federal Reserve has successively raised interest rates and reduced its balance sheet, and the market's expectations of an economic recession have continued to increase. Affected by the epidemic, the number of job vacancies has remained at a high level, and the US labor market has not yet recovered to pre-epidemic levels. Republicans and their supporters have taken advantage of this, blaming the Biden administration's economic policies in campaign ads. On the contrary, in his latest campaign speech, Biden focused on the threats facing the US electoral system, and his campaign strategy was to divert voters' attention.

US midterm elections are about to begin

2. Taxes

For the past two years, Democrats have pushed for higher taxes and tighter rules. Earlier, Democrats voted in the Senate to support raising the corporate tax rate to 25% and imposing the world's lowest profit tax. Since the beginning of this year, U.S. oil prices have generally risen due to the surge in energy prices triggered by the situation in Ukraine. The U.S. government has already taken steps to lower fuel prices, including the release of massive oil reserves. In late October, Biden announced another release of 15 million barrels of strategic oil reserves. Under this circumstance, instead of cooperating with price cuts, U.S. energy companies took the opportunity to make record-high profits. In response, Biden warned of a "windfall profits tax" and called on Congress to consider imposing punitive taxes on energy companies and formulate other restrictive measures.

Some Republicans on the U.S. House Ways and Means Committee, which currently oversees matters including tax tariffs, have pledged to make the tax cuts permanent, and most Republicans say they will push to extend the 2017 tax cuts signed under the Trump administration The expiring tax cut provisions, some important provisions of the law will expire in 2025 and 2027. In addition, Republicans plan to push to expand U.S. domestic energy production, seek to boost hydrogen project development, simplify licensing and development of nuclear power plants, and speed up approvals for liquefied natural gas export facilities for a variety of projects. In contrast, Republicans are expected to have a clear advantage in the tax vote.

US midterm elections are about to begin

3. Crime rate

Republicans also have a comparative advantage over high crime rates and public safety issues. Historically, big cities dominated by Democrats for a long time, such as New York, Chicago, etc., have indeed had a high crime rate, and the crime rate has continued to surge in recent years. Plus, the current deteriorating social order isn’t limited to big cities, with murder rates soaring in 2020 across red and blue states and cities, according to federal crime statistics. After the outbreak of the epidemic, racial discrimination and hate crimes against Asian Americans have intensified in the context of the intensification of social conflicts in the United States. In addition, on October 28, the husband of U.S. House of Representatives Speaker Pelosi was violently attacked by trespassers at his San Francisco residence, which also attracted great attention from the public.

With crime on the rise, Republicans have long insisted on law and order, at the forefront of their propaganda. But Republicans want to take the Democrats' charge of "poor policing" and avoid the issue of guns, because survey respondents also said gun policy also played an important role in the election, with some voters blaming guns for the surge in crime on management issues.

US midterm elections are about to begin

4. Abortion

Democrats and their supporters talk about abortion the most, and many Democratic candidates have made supporting and protecting abortion one of their core campaign promises. The abortion issue has been under fire for Republicans since the U.S. Supreme Court overturned Roe v. Wade in June. Conservatives in the U.S. Supreme Court ruled by a 6-3 absolute majority that U.S. women no longer have the constitutional right to abortion, a move that has led to protests across the United States. On the other hand, Republicans rarely talk about abortion in the campaign, and even when it does, Republican candidates will denounce their rivals for being too aggressive and disrespecting the right to life, while calling themselves moderate on the topic. Avoid sparking a backlash from pro-abortion rights advocates.

US midterm elections are about to begin

5. Immigration

At present, the two parties in the United States are still fighting each other over immigration issues. Republicans accuse the policies of the Biden administration and the incentives provided by "sanctuary" cities to exacerbate the crisis, while Democrats accuse the previous administration of reducing legal asylum channels. The crisis has renewed calls for a pathway to naturalization for the millions who have already entered the United States illegally.

US midterm elections are about to begin

Impact and Outlook

Taking into account the discussions on the issues that voters are most concerned about, the market expects that the Democratic Party may at least lose control of the first chamber, and the Biden administration will be more difficult to advance the policy in the later period. If the Republicans control Congress, it will undoubtedly increase the chips in the 2024 presidential election. This mid-term election will be more stalemate than in previous years, and the elections of swing states may play a key role.

2022 US Senate election map

US midterm elections are about to begin

2022 U.S. House of Representatives election map

US midterm elections are about to begin



The above information is provided by special analysts and is for reference only. CM Trade does not guarantee the accuracy, timeliness and completeness of the information content, so you should not place too much reliance on the information provided. CM Trade is not a company that provides financial advice, and only provides services of the nature of execution of orders. Readers are advised to seek relevant investment advice on their own. Please see our full disclaimer.

Free Access
Daily Trading Strategy
Download Now

CM Trade Mobile Application

Economics Calendar

More

You May Also Like

CM Trade

下載APP領取贈金

下載

美國中期選舉即將展開

2022-11-09
424

美國將於11月8日正式迎來中期選舉。雖然不涉及總統之位的改選,但國會衆議院全部435個議席、參議院100個議席中的35個議席都將參加改選。此外,美國50個州中的36個州長也將重新選舉。 

背景介紹

美國是實行三權分立制度最典型的國家之一。三權分立制度是指國家的立法、行政、司法三權分別由三個對應機構獨立行使,並相互制衡的制度。美國1787年憲法規定,立法權屬於由參議院和衆議院組成的合衆國國會,行政權屬於美國總統;司法權屬於最高法院及國會隨時制定與設立的下級法院。根據三種權力相互制衡的原則,美國憲法還規定,國會有權要求總統調整政策以備審議,批准總統對外締結的條約,建議和批准總統對其所屬行政官員的任命,通過彈劾案撤換總統,有權建議和批准總統對聯邦最高法院法官的任命,宣告懲治叛國罪,彈劾審判最高法院法官;總統對國會通過的法案擁有有限的否決權,副總統兼任參議院議長,總統還擁有特赦權、對最高法院法官的提名和任命權;最高法院法官在總統因彈劾案受審時擔任審判庭主席。此外,根據慣例,最高法院有權解釋法律,宣佈國會制定的法律違憲無效。 

參議院和衆議院組成國會的上下議院,是聯邦政府的立法部門,負責制定法律。參議員代表整個州,每個州有兩名參議員,無論規模大小,共有100名參議員,參議員的任期是交錯的,爲六年。目前,參議院中50名民主黨人和50名共和黨人各佔一半,副總統(參議院議長)使民主黨在參議院成爲多數黨。衆議院由435名議員組成,每名議員代表一個國會選區,任期兩年。各州的議席按人口劃分,但每個州必須至少有一個成員。衆議院目前有220名民主黨議員,212名共和黨議員和3名空缺議員。民主黨以微弱的優勢掌控着衆議院和參議院。 

爲了贏得此次中期選舉,民主黨和共和黨均不惜重金,據外媒報道,今年中期選舉累計廣告費用接近百億美元,或將成爲有史以來“最貴”的一場中期選舉。 

熱議主題 

1.通貨膨脹和經濟問題 

據美國廣播公司和Ipsos聯合進行的一項最新民調,通貨膨脹和經濟問題是中期選舉美國選民最爲關心的問題,大約一半的美國人將這兩項問題作爲投票的首要標準。民調顯示,73%的共和黨人將這兩個經濟問題列爲優先事項,29%的民主黨人認爲這兩個問題是值得優先考慮的。 

美國有線電視新聞網一項民調顯示,78%的美國民衆認爲目前美國經濟狀況“糟糕”或“很糟糕”,半數民衆認爲拜登政府的政策令經濟更加糟糕,僅有32%的民衆認可拜登政府應對通脹的做法。今年以來,美國通貨膨脹達40多年來最高水平,物價上漲使得美國人民生活成本急劇增加。爲抑制通脹延續,美聯儲接連加息縮表,市場對經濟衰退預期不斷提高,而受疫情影響,職位空缺數維持在高位,美國勞動力市場仍未修復至疫情前。共和黨人及其支持者則利用這一點,在競選廣告中指責拜登政府的經濟政策。相反,拜登在最新助選講話中聚焦了美國選舉制度面臨的威脅,競選策略是想轉移選民的視線。 

美國中期選舉即將展開

2.稅收 

近兩年來,民主黨在提高稅收和收緊規則方面發力。此前,民主黨在參議院的一次投票中,贊同將企業稅率提高到25%,並徵收全球最低利潤稅。今年以來,受烏克蘭局勢引發的能源價格飆升影響,美國油價整體上行。目前美國政府已經採取措施降低燃料價格,其中包括釋放大量石油儲備。10月下旬,拜登宣佈再次釋放1500萬桶戰略石油儲備。在此情況下,美國的能源公司不但沒有配合降價,反而藉此機會賺取創紀錄的高額利潤,對此拜登警告徵收“暴利稅”,呼籲國會考慮向能源公司徵收懲罰性稅收並制定其他限制措施。 

目前負責稅收關稅等事務的美國國會衆議院籌款委員會的一些共和黨人承諾要將減稅措施永久化,大部分共和黨人表示,將推動延長特朗普政府時期簽署的2017年減稅政策中即將到期的減稅條款,該法律中的部分重要條款將在2025年和2027年到期。此外,共和黨還計劃推動擴大美國國內能源生產,尋求促進氫項目開發,簡化核電站的許可和開發,以及加快液化天然氣出口設施批准的多種項目。對比之下,預計選民在稅收方面的投票上,共和黨顯然更具優勢。 

美國中期選舉即將展開

3.犯罪率 

對於高犯罪率和公共安全問題共和黨也相對佔有優勢。從歷史來看,民主黨長期主政的大城市,如紐約、芝加哥等,確實犯罪率較高,且近年來犯罪率持續激增。另外,當前社會治安惡化卻並不侷限於大城市,根據聯邦犯罪統計數據,2020年的謀殺率飆升,跨越了紅色和藍色的州和城市。疫情暴發後,在美國排外情緒激化社會矛盾的背景下,針對亞洲裔的種族歧視和仇恨犯罪愈演愈烈。此外,10月28日,美國國會衆議長佩洛西的丈夫在舊金山住所遭闖入者暴力襲擊,也引起民衆的高度關注。 

隨着犯罪率的上升,共和黨人長期以來一直堅持法律和秩序,是其宣傳的前沿。不過共和黨想要坐實民主黨“治安不力”的罪名,還要繞開槍支問題,因爲調查受訪者還表示,槍支政策也在選舉投票中起重要作用,部分選民將犯罪激增歸咎於槍支管理問題上。

美國中期選舉即將展開

4.墮胎 

民主黨人及其支持者談論最多的則是墮胎,許多民主黨候選人都將支持墮胎、保護墮胎行爲作爲核心競選承諾之一。自今年6月美國最高法院推翻羅伊訴韋德案以來,墮胎問題一直讓共和黨飽受批評。美國聯邦最高法院中保守派以6比3的絕對多數裁定美國女性不再擁有墮胎合憲權,此舉導致美國多地舉行抗議示威活動。反之,共和黨人則在競選中鮮少談及墮胎話題,即使涉及這一話題,共和黨候選人也會譴責競爭對手太過激進、不尊重生命權,同時稱自己在這個話題上比較溫和,避免引發支持墮胎權人士的強烈反對。 

美國中期選舉即將展開

5.移民 

目前,美國兩黨依舊圍繞移民問題相互扯皮,共和黨人指責拜登政府的政策以及“庇護”城市提供的激勵措施加劇了危機,民主黨人則指責前政府縮減了合法庇護途徑,他們並利用這場危機再次呼籲爲已經非法進入美國的數百萬人提供入籍途徑。 

美國中期選舉即將展開

影響與展望 

綜合當下選民最爲關心的議題討論,市場預期民主黨或至少會丟掉一院的掌控,後期拜登政府對政策推進更加步履維艱。若共和黨掌控國會,無疑將爲2024年的總統大選增加籌碼。本次中期選舉選情較往屆表現將更爲膠着,搖擺州的選舉或起關鍵作用。 

2022年美国参议院选情图

美國中期選舉即將展開

2022年美国众议院选情图

美國中期選舉即將展開

以上信息為特約分析師提供,僅供參考。 CM Trade 併不保證信息內容之准確性、實時性和完整性, 所以您不應過於依賴提供之信息。CM Trade併非提供財務建議的公司,亦只提供執行指令性質之服務。 我們建議讀者自行尋求相關投資建議。請參閱我們完整的免責宣告。

免費獲取
每日交易策略
立即下載

CM Trade 手機應用程式

財經日歷

更多

熱門文章