CM Trade

Download APP to receive bonus

GET

Sterling, US climb, British recession fears always weigh on sterling

2022-11-14
425

GBP/USD continued to climb, closing at around 1.18523, and bullish sentiment in the market began to emerge, but fears of a British recession have always put pressure on GBP. In the current wave of interest rate hikes in Europe and the United States, the Bank of England took the lead in raising interest rates as early as the end of last year, but the rate of interest rate hikes lags behind the Federal Reserve and the European Central Bank.

The Bank of England announced that from November 29, it will open the sale of some of the British government bonds in the central bank's investment portfolio to interested buyers. These government bonds are traditional long-term British government bonds and index-linked government bonds purchased between September 28 and October 14, with a total purchase of 19.3 billion pounds (about 22 billion U.S. dollars), of which long-term government bonds are 12.1 billion pounds and the remaining 7.2 billion. GBP is an index-linked government bond.

Sterling, US climb, British recession fears always weigh on sterling

The Bank of England has promised that bond purchases will be temporary. In order for the central bank to deliver on its promise of a temporary nature, the sell-off of these positions must be timely. "Based on ongoing market monitoring and intelligence, the central bank judges that it is appropriate to begin unwinding positions before the end of the year."

Unlike the Bank of England's quantitative tightening (QT) action to reduce its holdings of bonds purchased during quantitative easing (QE), the Bank of England will not sell the above-mentioned British government bonds at a fixed time, but will determine the specific sales scale according to market demand. It said the sell-off was planned to be a "demand-based, timely but orderly" unwinding of recent gilts bought for financial stability.

The central bank will decide at its own discretion whether to accept any bids for bond purchases, based on its assessment of demand patterns. The basic principle is that the central bank will only accept bids that it deems attractive compared to prevailing market levels. The announcement means that the Bank of England's emergency bond-buying program has begun to be lifted.

At its November rate meeting, the Bank of England projected that inflation would peak at around 11% in the fourth quarter of this year and fall to zero by 2025. The Bank of England stressed that medium-term inflation risks remain skewed to the upside. It may even be "strong" if inflationary pressures persist, or more rate hikes are needed. The new British Prime Minister Sunak also said: "Tackling inflation will be the current focus of policy."

The chief economist of the Bank of England admitted that it was a mistake to implement QE during the epidemic, and the printing of money caused British inflation to soar. Bank of England chief economist Huw Pill testified before the House of Lords Economic Affairs Committee on Tuesday that the current high inflation in the UK is mainly caused by soaring gas prices in Europe. But it also admitted that the 450 billion pounds of quantitative easing policy by the Bank of England during the epidemic was also an important factor in fueling inflation.

More and more people believe that the British economy has fallen into a quagmire. In recent months, the country's PMI has continued to fall. Under the pressure of inflation, retail sales in August and September fell respectively. The agency predicts that the UK GDP will shrink in the third quarter to be announced on Friday. 0.5%, the challenge for the UK government and the central bank is getting tougher. State Street EMEA head of macro strategy Tim Graf said peak rates could be closer to 4% to 4.25%. "The central bank's message is clearly dovish and the economy is already in recession, expected to last into 2023, limiting the need for a significant rate hike. Next, the focus will shift to the autumn budget report."

Sterling, US climb, British recession fears always weigh on sterling

Former British Prime Minister Truss' cabinet was forced to make a 180-degree turn under pressure. On October 14, Tesla announced that it had ousted Covoten, who advocated tax cuts, and cancelled the company tax plan that cost up to 18 billion pounds to freeze, maintaining the British company tax at 25%. Britain's new Chancellor of the Exchequer, Hunt, unveiled a so-called "sustainable" fiscal plan three days later, completely reversing the direction of Truss' aggressive tax cuts, scrapping almost all of them.

UK economic activity contracted at its fastest pace in nearly two years in October, except for builders reporting their first drop in new orders since May 2020, further signaling a recession; S&P Global/Cips UK industry-wide purchasing manager for October The People's Index (PMI) fell to 48.7 from 49.4 the previous month, the lowest level since January 2021 and well below 50, which indicates that most businesses reported contraction.

With interest rates rising sharply, construction output "is likely to continue to decline as projects become more expensive, putting pressure on supply chains and distribution," said Kelly Boorman, partner and national head of construction at RSM UK. package creates further pressure." She expects the UK economy to contract by 0.5% in the third quarter, before a similar contraction in the fourth quarter as consumers cut back on spending in the face of high inflation and rising mortgage bills.

GBP/USD daily candlestick chart shows:

The bullish momentum has risen strongly, the bullish sentiment in the market continues to move upward, and the short-term bullish sentiment is in good shape. The top suppresses and focuses on the vicinity of 1.22020, and the low-level support focuses on the vicinity of 1.13810. The MACD indicator is arranged on the upper side of the 0 axis, and the RSI indicator is hovering at the 50 equilibrium line. picture:

Sterling, US climb, British recession fears always weigh on sterling

[Disclaimer] This article only represents the author's own views, and does not provide any express or implied guarantee for the accuracy, reliability or completeness of the content, and does not constitute any investment advice. Please read it for reference only and bear all risks. with responsibility.

The above information is provided by special analysts and is for reference only. CM Trade does not guarantee the accuracy, timeliness and completeness of the information content, so you should not place too much reliance on the information provided. CM Trade is not a company that provides financial advice, and only provides services of the nature of execution of orders. Readers are advised to seek relevant investment advice on their own. Please see our full disclaimer.

Free Access
Daily Trading Strategy
Download Now

CM Trade Mobile Application

Economics Calendar

More

You May Also Like

CM Trade

下載APP領取贈金

下載

鎊美雖攀升 英經濟衰退擔憂始終施壓英鎊

2022-11-14
371

英鎊兌美元持續攀升,收盤至1.18523附近,市場看漲情緒開始湧現,但英國經濟衰退的擔憂情緒始終施壓英鎊。在本輪歐美加息浪潮中,英國央行早在去年底率先加息,但加息速度卻落後於美聯儲和歐洲央行。

英國央行宣佈,從11月29日開始,向有意向的買家開放出售央行投資組合中的部分英國國債。这些國債是在9月28日到10月14日期間購買的傳統長期英國國債和與指數掛鉤的國債,購買總額193億英鎊(約合220億美元),其中長期國債121億英鎊,其餘72億英鎊為指數掛鉤的國債。

獲取更多差價合約交易策略

免費開通賬戶> > 入金最高送 $88

英央行曾承諾,購債是暫時的。為了保證央行兌現暫時性這一特質的承諾,拋售這些持倉必須是及時的。“根據持續的市場監測和情報,央行判斷,在年底前開始平倉是合適的。”

和英央行量化緊縮(QT)行動減持量化寬鬆(QE)期間所購債不同,英央行並不會按固定的時間拋售上述英國國債,而將根據市場需求來決定具體的出售規模。其表示,這次拋售計畫是“以需求為主的方式,及時但又有序地”將最近為金融穩定而購買的英國國債平倉。

鎊美雖攀升 英經濟衰退擔憂始終施壓英鎊

免費開通賬戶> > 入金最高送 $88

央行將根據其對需求模式的評估,自行決定是否接受任何購債的投標。基本原則是,央行只接受其認為相比現行市場水準具有吸引力的投標。公告意味著,英國央行緊急救市的購債專案開始解除。

在11月的利率會議上,英國央行預計,通脹將在今年第四季度達到11%左右的峰值,並到2025年降至零。英國央行強調稱,中期通脹風險仍偏向上行。如果通脹壓力持續,或需要更多加息,甚至可能是“強有力的”。新任英國首相蘇納克也表示:“解決通脹問題將是政策當前的工作重點。”

英國央行首席經濟學家承認,在疫情期間執行QE是個錯誤,印鈔導致英國通脹狂飆。英國央行首席經濟學家Huw Pill週二在上議院經濟事務委員會做證時表示,英國目前的高通脹主要是由歐洲天然氣價格飆漲造成的。但其同時承認,英國央行疫情期間4500億英鎊的量化寬鬆政策也是助長通脹的重要因素。

越來越多的人認為英國經濟已經陷入泥潭,近幾個月來該國PMI持續回落,通脹壓力下8-9月零售銷售額分別下降,機構預測週五將揭曉的三季度英國GDP將萎縮0.5%,留給英國政府和央行的挑戰正在愈發艱巨。道富EMEA宏觀策略主管格拉夫(Tim Graf)表示,峰值利率可能接近4%至4.25%。“央行的資訊顯然是鴿派的,經濟已經處於衰退之中,預計將持續到2023年,限制了利率大幅上調的必要性。接下來,重點將轉移到秋季預算報告。”

鎊美雖攀升 英經濟衰退擔憂始終施壓英鎊

免費開通賬戶> > 入金最高送 $88

英國前首相特拉斯內閣迫於壓力不得不180度大轉向。10月14日,特斯拉宣佈罷免力主減稅的科沃滕,並取消凍結成本高達180億英鎊的公司稅計畫,將英國公司稅維持在25%的水準。英國新任財政大臣亨特三天後又公佈了所謂的“可持續”財政計畫,徹底改變了特拉斯的激進減稅計畫方向,取消了幾乎所有的減稅計畫。

10月英國經濟活動出現近兩年來最快的收縮,除了建築商報告了自2020年5月以來的首次新訂單下降,進一步表明經濟衰退之外;10月標準普爾全球/Cips英國全行業採購經理人指數(PMI)從上月的49.4降至48.7,創下自2021年1月以來的最低水準,遠低於表明多數企業報告出現收縮的50。

英國瑞森會計師事務所(RSM UK)合夥人兼建築業務全國主管凱利·布爾曼表示,隨著利率大幅上升,建築產出“可能會持續下降,因為專案變得更加昂貴,對供應鏈和分包造成進一步壓力”。她預計,英國經濟第三季度將下降0.5%,第四季度將出現類似幅度的收縮,原因是面對高通脹和不斷上漲的抵押貸款帳單,消費者減少了支出。

英鎊兌美元日K線圖顯示:

多頭動力強勢攀升,市場多頭情緒不斷上移,短期看漲情緒態勢良好,上方壓制關注1.22020附近,低位支撐關注1.13810附近,MACD指標處於0軸線上側整理,RSI指標處於50均衡線上側弱勢徘徊;如圖:

鎊美雖攀升 英經濟衰退擔憂始終施壓英鎊

免費開通賬戶> > 入金最高送 $88

【免責聲明】本文僅代表作者本人觀點,不對所包含內容的準確性、可靠性或完整性提供任何明示或暗示的保證,且不構成任何投資建議,請讀者僅作參考,並自行承擔全部風險與責任。

以上信息為特約分析師提供,僅供參考。 CM Trade 併不保證信息內容之准確性、實時性和完整性, 所以您不應過於依賴提供之信息。CM Trade併非提供財務建議的公司,亦只提供執行指令性質之服務。 我們建議讀者自行尋求相關投資建議。請參閱我們完整的免責宣告。

免費獲取
每日交易策略
立即下載

CM Trade 手機應用程式

財經日歷

更多

熱門文章