CM Trade

Download APP to receive bonus

GET

The market pays attention to the effect of the new British Prime Minister's policy implementation, the pound and the United States fluctuate and decline

2022-09-19
251

GBP/USD fluctuated and fell this week, weighed down by a strong dollar, while the deteriorating UK economic outlook and UK political volatility put pressure on the pound. Britain is in the midst of a historically rare energy crisis and high inflation, which is set to rise to 13% by the end of the year and trigger a prolonged recession.

The US Commodity Futures Trading Commission CFTC foreign exchange business position report shows that as of 2022-09-13 the week (hands) long positions of sterling increased by 42,729 hands to 232,346 hands. Investors need to pay attention to whether the various policies of Truss can be successfully implemented and achieved in the future, and the final result is expected to affect the trend of the pound.

The market pays attention to the effect of the new British Prime Minister's policy implementation, the pound and the United States fluctuate and decline

The Bank of England has postponed its next monetary policy decision until Thursday, September 22 due to the death of the Queen. The Bank of England kicked off its biggest rate hike in 27 years in August and is widely expected to opt for another 75 basis point hike this month.

Bank of England Governor Andrew Bailey has repeatedly reiterated that the Bank of England will not be affected by political pressure, but BNP Paribas economist Paul Hollingsworth suggested that with inflation so high, in the current context, Views on the effects of the Bank of England's actions differ.

Truss has been highly critical of the Bank of England's failure to nip inflation in the bud during her campaign for Conservative leadership, and she is reported to be considering a review of the central bank's mandate. The Truss government and central bank also have to deal with a historically tight labor market, with Britain's unemployment rate at a 48-year low and economic stagnation at a five-year high, further fueling fears that the economy will sink into inflation.

The Bank of England has raised interest rates several times since December last year, but inflation in the UK remains high. The market's concern about "even if the Bank of England keeps raising interest rates, inflation will still go out of control" has increased significantly. Although this is quite a headache for the Bank of England, sticking to a "hawkish" attitude and continuing to firmly implement the policy of raising interest rates may be a choice that Bank of England policymakers have to make.

The Bank of England's actions to tighten monetary policy will inevitably hurt the recovery of the UK economy. Between fighting inflation and promoting economic recovery, the Bank of England's policy balance has been skewed to the side of fighting inflation. Several research institutes predict that the UK economy may fall into recession in the fourth quarter of this year.

The British economy is in recession, putting pressure on the pound. The UK is still mired in the quagmire of insufficient energy supply, and has become the primary problem that Truss must face and solve. This summer, under the combined influence of the Russian-Ukrainian conflict and extreme high temperature weather, the UK's energy supply dilemma has become prominent. The UK Gas Electricity Market Office has announced that from October 1, 2022, the average dual-fuel energy price cap per household will be raised from £1,971 to £3,549 a year, an increase of up to 80%. The decision means UK households will incur higher energy bills, further increasing the cost and burden of living.

The market pays attention to the effect of the new British Prime Minister's policy implementation, the pound and the United States fluctuate and decline

According to data released by the Office for National Statistics on September 16, UK retail sales fell by 1.6% in August, the largest drop since December 2021. The ONS also said retail sales in all major industries, including food, non-food and fuel, fell in August.

Previously, economists predicted that due to the high inflation rate and the energy crisis, retail sales in the UK would fall by 0.5% in August, and the National Bureau of Statistics data far exceeded the forecast. Local media said it highlighted "recession risks" and was a "worrying signal"

At present, a number of important economic data indicators in the UK have turned on "red lights". The UK's gross domestic product (GDP) shrank by 0.1% in the second quarter of 2022, the first data released by the Office for National Statistics showed. Among them, the output of services fell by 0.4% in the second quarter of 2022; the output of production activities increased by 0.5% in the second quarter of 2022, a slowdown from the 1.3% growth rate in the previous quarter.

GBP/USD daily candlestick chart shows:

The short-term bearish sentiment at a low level continued, and there was a trend of continuing downward movement. The top suppression focused on the vicinity of 1.16074, the low-level support focused on the vicinity of 1.12340, the MACD indicator was in the short-term area, and the RSI indicator was hovering below the 50 equilibrium line, as shown in the figure :

The market pays attention to the effect of the new British Prime Minister's policy implementation, the pound and the United States fluctuate and decline

[Disclaimer] This article only represents the author's own views, and remains neutral with respect to the statements and opinions in the article, and does not provide any express or implied guarantee for the accuracy, reliability or completeness of the content, and does not constitute any investment advice. Please read For informational purposes only, and at your own risk and responsibility.

The above information is provided by special analysts and is for reference only. CM Trade does not guarantee the accuracy, timeliness and completeness of the information content, so you should not place too much reliance on the information provided. CM Trade is not a company that provides financial advice, and only provides services of the nature of execution of orders. Readers are advised to seek relevant investment advice on their own. Please see our full disclaimer.

Free Access
Daily Trading Strategy
Download Now

CM Trade Mobile Application

Economics Calendar

More

You May Also Like

CM Trade

下載APP領取贈金

下載

市場關注英新首相政策推行效果 鎊美震盪下行

2022-09-19
308

英鎊兌美元本周震盪回落,受到強勢美元打壓,同時惡化的英國經濟前景和英國政局波動都給英鎊壓力。英國正處於歷史罕見的能源危機和高通脹之中,英國年底前通脹將上升至13%,並引發長期衰退。

美國商品期貨交易委員會CFTC外匯類商業持倉報告顯示:截止至2022-09-13當周(手)英鎊多頭倉位增加42729手至232346手。投資者未來需關注特拉斯各項政策能否成功推行並取得效果,最後結果料影響英鎊走勢。

市場關注英新首相政策推行效果  鎊美震盪下行

由於英國女王去世,英國央行將下一次貨幣政策決定推遲到9月22日週四。英國央行在8月份啟動了27年來最大的一次加息,市場普遍預期本月將選擇再次加息75個基點。

英國央行行長貝利(Andrew Bailey)多次重申,英國央行不會受到政治壓力的影響,但法國巴黎銀行經濟學家Paul Hollingsworth暗示,在通脹如此之高的情況下,在當前背景下,對英國央行行動效果的看法有所不同。

特拉斯對英國央行在她競選保守黨領袖期間未能將通貨膨脹扼殺在萌芽狀態的做法提出了高度批評,據報導,她正在考慮對央行的職責進行審查。特拉斯政府和央行還必須應對勞動力市場歷來吃緊的問題,英國失業率處於48年低點,經濟停滯率處於5年高點,這進一步加劇了人們對英國經濟將陷入通脹的擔憂。

英國央行已經從去年12月開始多次加息,但英國的通脹水準仍是居高不下。市場對於“即便英國央行連續加息,通脹仍會走向失控”的擔憂情緒明顯增加。雖然這令英國央行頗為頭痛,但堅持“鷹”派態度、繼續堅定地實施加息政策,也許是英國央行決策者們不得不作出的選擇。

英國央行收緊貨幣政策的行動將不可避免地傷害到英國經濟的復蘇。在抗擊通脹與推動經濟復蘇之間,英國央行的政策天平已經偏向了抗擊通脹的一邊。多家研究機構預計,英國經濟可能將在今年第四季度陷入衰退。

英國經濟陷入衰退危機給英鎊壓力。英國目前仍深陷能源供應不足的泥沼,並且成為特拉斯必須面對和解決的首要難題。今年夏季,在俄烏衝突以及極端高溫天氣的共同影響下,英國能源供應困境凸顯,能源供應嚴重不足,發電成本以及英國民眾的用電成本節節攀升。英國天然氣電力市場辦公室已經宣佈,從2022年10月1日起,平均每個家庭使用雙燃料的能源價格上限將由每年1971英鎊提高到3549英鎊,上調幅度高達80%。這一決定意味著英國家庭將承擔更高的能源使用費用,生活成本和負擔進一步增加。

市場關注英新首相政策推行效果  鎊美震盪下行

據英國國家統計局9月16日發佈的數據,8月英國零售銷售額下跌1.6%,這是該數據自2021年12月以來的最大跌幅。英國國家統計局還表示,包括食品、非食品、燃油在內的所有主要行業的零售銷售額,均在8月下跌。

此前,經濟學家預測,受到高通貨膨脹率、能源危機等影響,8月英國零售銷售額將下降0.5%,國家統計局數據遠超該預測。當地媒體稱,這凸顯了“經濟衰退風險”,是一個“令人擔憂的信號”

當前,英國已經有多項重要的經濟數據指標亮起“紅燈”。英國國家統計局公佈的初次數據顯示,2022年第二季度,英國國內生產總值(GDP)環比萎縮0.1%。其中,服務產出在2022年第二季度下降了0.4%;生產活動產出在2022年第二季度增長0.5%,與上一季度1.3%的增速相比有所放緩。

英鎊兌美元日K線圖顯示:

空頭動力維持震盪下行,低位短期空頭情緒持續,有繼續向下移動態勢,上方壓制關注1.16074附近,低位支撐關注1.12340附近,MACD指標處於空頭區域整理,RSI指標處於50均衡線下側徘徊,如圖:

市場關注英新首相政策推行效果  鎊美震盪下行

【免責聲明】本文僅代表作者本人觀點,對文中陳述、觀點判斷保持中立,不對所包含內容的準確性、可靠性或完整性提供任何明示或暗示的保證,且不構成任何投資建議,請讀者僅作參考,並自行承擔全部風險與責任。




以上信息為特約分析師提供,僅供參考。 CM Trade 併不保證信息內容之准確性、實時性和完整性, 所以您不應過於依賴提供之信息。CM Trade併非提供財務建議的公司,亦只提供執行指令性質之服務。 我們建議讀者自行尋求相關投資建議。請參閱我們完整的免責宣告。

免費獲取
每日交易策略
立即下載

CM Trade 手機應用程式

財經日歷

更多

熱門文章