CM Trade

Download APP to receive bonus

GET

Short and medium-term thinking on international oil prices

2022-09-14
230

Oil prices continued to strengthen after last Wednesday's slump. Strong Fed rate hike expectations and weak Chinese trade statistics have exacerbated concerns about a slowdown in the world economy and the destruction of energy demand. Official data from China showed that China's exports in August were year-on-year. The growth was only 7.1%, which was lower than the psychological expectation of 12.8%. In August, China's imports increased slightly by 0.3%, which was lower than the psychological expectation of 1.1%. Where will oil prices go next? We interviewed the UTC trading desk team in writing.

In the short term, what are the main factors affecting the crude oil market price?

At present, the main supply and demand factors that affect crude oil market price expectations are:

Demand: The Chinese government is facing a severe epidemic prevention situation and implements strict epidemic control policies. Chinese refineries are constantly suppressing the operating rate, which to a certain extent suppresses the traditional autumn crude oil purchase demand, and China is the world's largest crude oil supplier. The number one buyer, China's crude oil imports in August 2022 were only 9.54 million bpd, compared with 10.53 million bpd in August 2021 and 11.23 million bpd in August 2020 , superimposed on weak trade data, the market believes that China's implied demand for crude oil in the rest of 2022 is weaker than expected.

Short and medium-term thinking on international oil prices

Supply: Due to the successful implementation of a combination of policies such as the release of strategic reserves, the relaxation of gasoline RVP standards in summer, and the temporary measures of gasoline consumption tax, the market's worries about the shortage of gasoline in summer in Europe and the United States have disappeared, but these sentiments have shifted to distillate oil in winter. , The news media of various countries are constantly exaggerating that the world may face another energy crisis this winter. Looking at the U.S. futures market, the U.S. RBOB gasoline futures have erased all year-to-date gains, while the U.S. heating oil futures price, which represents distillate oil, remains unchanged. at highs since January;

Judging from the level of U.S. refined oil inventories, U.S. gasoline inventories have fallen to a reasonable level after the end of the summer. According to historical laws, if there is no accident (U.S. refiners will no longer increase gasoline exports), the U.S. gasoline inventory level will increase next. Returning to the seasonal growth model, the level of distillate oil stocks in the United States continues to decline. Whether the distillate oil can complete the accumulation of stocks before the arrival of the cold winter is the focus issue that professional investors are closely judging and judging. From the HO VS BRENT cracking in 2023 The trend of the spread and the RBOB VS Brent crack spread continues to show a scissors difference, and investors believe that there is still room for distillate prices to rise.

Short and medium-term thinking on international oil prices

In the medium term, what are the main factors affecting the crude oil market price?

From the perspective of crude oil purchasing in the second half of the year, crude oil purchasing groups are often accustomed to judging the implied demand expectations for the next oil by analyzing the demand data in Europe and the United States in June and Asia in August. In Europe and the United States, market investors have seen that the consumption level of refined oil products in Europe and the United States has basically recovered to the level before the epidemic;

In Asia, according to satellite image data from relevant agencies, China's onshore crude oil inventory level is about 900 million barrels. After a brief rise in April, it has been in a continuous downward trend and is currently lower than 2021 and 2020. The historical level of the same period last year, but still higher than the historical level of the same period in 2018 and 2019. Statistics from India show that India's oil demand in August increased by 16.3% year-on-year to 17.81 million tons. To a certain extent, the epidemic control policy has led to a decline in the number of crude oil imports, but China's crude oil inventories continue to decline, indicating that China's oil consumption demand remains within a reasonable range, while India's demand data has continued to grow strongly in recent months. The performance, to a certain extent, offset the decline in Asian demand brought about by China's epidemic policy.

We can reasonably expect that when China's crude oil inventories drop to a certain level and the epidemic situation is effectively controlled at a certain point, China's crude oil purchasers will quickly return to the market, superimposed on the normalization of crude oil demand in other emerging economies. World crude oil consumption is expected to be completely back on track by then.

Short and medium-term thinking on international oil prices

What are the main factors affecting the price of crude oil in the long run?

Human beings are going through traditional energy crisis and new energy technology revolution. Judging from the recent publicity by mainstream news media around the world, governments around the world are effectively influencing and controlling human energy consumption expectations. People are constantly deepening their understanding of the energy crisis and making efforts to change themselves. This leads to a complex situation: the energy supply side is afraid to respond effectively to higher crude oil prices vs the gradual normalization of the energy demand side, which leads to seasonal shortages, that is, despite the short-term and long-term The crude oil curve has all recovered to the higher price range, but crude oil producers have maintained a rather cautious restraint in expanding long-term investment and increasing crude oil production supply.

Therefore, in the long run, crude oil will continue to face the risk of tight supply in the coming period, but as the impact of the epidemic gradually subsides, human economic activities gradually return to normal, the global population returns to the growth track, the summer energy crisis and winter The story of the energy crisis will be repeated in the news media of various countries, superimposed on emergencies such as "disastrous weather, geopolitical conflicts", and the long-term crude oil volatility is expected to continue to strengthen until the success of the new energy technology revolution of mankind, which completely resolves the traditional energy crisis.

Short and medium-term thinking on international oil prices

The above information is provided by special analysts and is for reference only. CM Trade does not guarantee the accuracy, timeliness and completeness of the information content, so you should not place too much reliance on the information provided. CM Trade is not a company that provides financial advice, and only provides services of the nature of execution of orders. Readers are advised to seek relevant investment advice on their own. Please see our full disclaimer.

Free Access
Daily Trading Strategy
Download Now

CM Trade Mobile Application

Economics Calendar

More

You May Also Like

CM Trade

下載APP領取贈金

下載

國際油價中短期思考

2022-09-14
232

油價在上週三的大跌後連續走強,強勁的美聯儲加息預期和疲軟的中國貿易統計數據,加劇了世界經濟放緩對於能源需求破壞的憂慮,來自中國官方的數據顯示,8月份中國出口同比增長僅7.1%,低於12.8%的心理預期,8月份中國進口小幅增長0.3%,低於1.1%的心理預期,接下來油價將何去何從,我們書面採訪了UTC交易台團隊。

短期來看,影響原油市場價格的主要因素有哪些?

目前,影響原油市場價格預期的供需因素主要有:

需求方面:中國政府正在面臨嚴峻的防疫形勢,實施嚴格的疫情管控政策,中國煉廠企業在不斷的壓制開工率,這在一定程度上壓制了傳統的秋季原油採購需求,而中國是世界原油的頭號買家,2022年8月份中國原油進口量僅為954萬桶/日,相比之下,2021年8月中國原油進口量為1053萬桶/日,2020 年8月為1123萬桶/日,疊加疲軟的貿易數據,市場認為,中國在2022年剩餘時間的原油隱含需求弱於預期。

國際油價中短期思考

供給方面:由於戰略儲備釋放、夏季汽油RVP標準放寬、汽油消費稅臨時措施等政策組合拳的成功實施,市場對歐美夏季汽油的供給短缺憂慮情緒已經消失不見,但這些情緒已經轉移至對冬季餾分油,各國新聞媒體正在不斷渲染這個冬天世界可能又一次面臨能源危機,觀察美國期貨市場,目前美國RBOB汽油期貨已經抹平了年初至今的所有漲幅,而代表餾分油的美國取暖油期貨價格則仍保持在1月以來的高位;

從美國成品油庫存水平來看,美國汽油庫存在夏季結束以後已經下降至合理水平區間,按照歷史規律,如無意外(美國煉油企業不再加大汽油出口),美國汽油庫存水平接下來將重回季節性增長模式,美國餾分油庫存水平則仍在持續下降,在寒冬到來之前,餾分油能否完成庫存累積,是當前專業投資者正在緊密研判的焦點問題,從2023年的HO VS BRENT裂解價差與RBOB VS Brent裂解價差走勢持續呈現剪刀差來看,投資者認為餾分油仍有價格上漲空間。

國際油價中短期思考

中期來看,影響原油市場價格的主要因素有哪些?

從下半年的原油採購工作角度來說,原油採購群體往往習慣於通過分析歐美6月和亞洲8月的需求數據來研判接下來的石油隱含需求預期。歐美方面,市場投資者已經看到了歐美成品油消費水平實際上已經基本回升至疫情前水平;

亞洲方面,根據有關機構的衛星影像數據顯示,中國的陸上原油庫存水平約為9億桶,在4月份經歷了短暫的上升之後,一直處於持續下降的趨勢,目前已經低於2021年和2020年曆史同期水平,但是仍然高於2018年和2019年曆史同期水平,印度方面的統計數據顯示,印度8月石油需求同比增長了16.3%至1781萬噸,也就是說,儘管由於中國實施嚴格的疫情管控政策在一定程度上導致了原油進口數量的下降,但是中國的原油庫存仍在持續下降,說明中國的石油消費需求仍保持在合理區間,而印度在近幾個月持續強勁增長的需求數據表現,則在一定程度上抵消了中國疫情政策帶來的亞洲需求下降。

我們可以合理地預期,當中國原油庫存下降到一定程度,疫情形勢在某個時點得到有效的控制,中國原油採購玩家必將迅速重新回歸市場,疊加其他新興經濟體的原油需求正常化表現,世界原油消費預期將在那時徹底重回正常軌道。

國際油價中短期思考

長期來看,影響原油市場價格的主要因素有哪些?

人類正在經歷傳統能源危機和新能源技術革命,從近期世界各國主流新聞媒體的宣傳來看,各國政府正在有效影響和管控人類的能源消費預期,人們正在不斷加深對能源危機的認識和努力改變自身的過度消費行為,這導致了一個複雜的局面:能源供給側對更高的原油價格不敢做出有效反應 VS 能源需求側逐步正常化導致季節性緊缺輪番上演,也就是說,儘管近遠期原油曲線均回升到了較高的價格區間,但是原油生產商對於擴大長期投資和增加原油生產供應,仍然保持了相當謹慎的克制.

因此,從長期來看,原油將在未來一段時期持續面臨供給偏緊的風險,但是伴隨疫情影響逐步消退,人類經濟活動逐步重歸正常化,全球人口數量重回增長軌道,夏季能源危機和冬季能源危機的故事將在各國新聞媒體不斷反复上演,疊加“災害天氣、地緣政治衝突”等突發事件,遠期原油波動率預計將持續走強,直到人類新能源技術革命取得成功,徹底化解了傳統能源危機。

國際油價中短期思考

以上信息為特約分析師提供,僅供參考。 CM Trade 併不保證信息內容之准確性、實時性和完整性, 所以您不應過於依賴提供之信息。CM Trade併非提供財務建議的公司,亦只提供執行指令性質之服務。 我們建議讀者自行尋求相關投資建議。請參閱我們完整的免責宣告。

免費獲取
每日交易策略
立即下載

CM Trade 手機應用程式

財經日歷

更多

熱門文章