CM Trade

Download APP to receive bonus

GET

Risk sentiment persists, markets intensify recession

2022-08-26
303
UK retailers report unexpected jump in sales in August
British retailers recorded their strongest monthly sales in nine months in August, data from the Confederation of British Industry showed, inconsistent with earlier expectations for a decline in sales as household living costs fell. The UK CBI retail sales margin jumped to 37 in August from -4. Martin Sartorius, chief economist at the Confederation of British Industry, said that while retail sales returned to steady growth in the year to August, businesses remained pessimistic about the business situation for the next three months, and that pessimism was reflected in retailers' In terms of investment willingness, their investment willingness is still very negative.
​​
Improved risk sentiment and rising gilt yields failed to support the pound
Economists believe that the pound has failed to gain support from the recent improvement in risk sentiment and rising British government bond yields, reflecting concerns about economic growth that are still weighing on the pound. A more restrictive benchmark interest rate from the Bank of England will also exacerbate the downturn. Even with a rate hike by the Bank of England, benchmark interest rates are expected to remain well below inflation and real rates remain negative, making them relatively unattractive.

Risk sentiment persists, markets intensify recession
​​
The main US growth indicators are now divided, intensifying the recession debate
The government's main gauge of U.S. economic growth pointed in different directions in the first half of 2022, providing a basis for further debate about the health of the economy. Data from the U.S. Commerce Department on Thursday showed that inflation-adjusted gross domestic product fell 0.6 percent on an annualized basis in the second quarter. However, gross domestic income (GDI), another lesser-known official measure of economic growth, rose 1.4% in the second quarter and 1.8% in the first. The data measures economic activity, such as compensation and company profits, by calculating all income generated from producing goods and services.
​​
Powell may hint at further tightening policy
Fed Chair Jerome Powell is likely to deliver a hawkish tone at Friday's Jackson Hole symposium. Inflation in the U.S. remains elevated and is expected to remain above target for a long time to come, while current wage increases are far from matching the Fed’s goal of containing price increases. When it comes to monetary policy, there is only one thing left to do, and that is to tighten further. Expect to see a central bank governor not only ready to fire, but also to raise interest rates.
​​
Bank of America: The Federal Reserve cuts interest rates in a regular way
The Fed will cut rates six months after reaching the terminal rate, i.e. by September 2023. During the 1995 interest rate cycle, the Fed held the terminal rate for more than five months, and in the 1980s, when monetary policy was more volatile, the Fed turned more quickly. The Fed's rule for keeping interest rates unchanged when inflation is falling is that the annual rate of PCE should not be lower than 2%, otherwise the Fed may turn to cutting interest rates (exception in the early 1980s). And after 1984 (except for the 2018 rate cycle), job growth has cooled before the Fed cut rates.
​​
Goldman Sachs looks ahead to the Fed’s September interest rate resolution: it is expected to raise interest rates by 50 basis points
Our bank expects the Fed to raise rates by 50 basis points at the September rate decision meeting and 25 basis points in November and December, although persistent inflationary pressures will pose upside risks to the Fed's policy rate path in the second half of the year. The Fed's terminal interest rate is expected to be 3.25-3.5%. On the fiscal policy front, the recently signed fiscal agreement is expected to have only a very modest net fiscal impact

Risk sentiment persists, markets intensify recession
​​
Goldman Sachs looks ahead to the U.S. economy: 30% chance of falling into recession next year
U.S. GDP is forecast to contract by 0.1% year-on-year in the fourth quarter of 2022, largely negatively impacted by the massive fiscal drag and tightening financial conditions. In addition, the probability of a recession in the U.S. is projected to be 30% next year and about 50% in the next two years, though any recession is likely to be mild. Core PCE is expected to fall to 4.3% by the end of 2022, but supply chain disruptions, faster wage growth and stronger housing spending inflation are likely to keep inflation high for a long time. The unemployment rate is expected to rise to 3.6% by the end of this year, 3.8% by the end of 2023 and 4.0% by the end of 2024.
​​
Germany approves winter energy saving policy can save about 10.8 billion euros
In the face of energy shortages, the German government approved winter energy-saving measures on the 24th, limiting heating and electricity use in public buildings, in order to reduce natural gas consumption by 2%. According to the new regulations, starting from September 1, except for hospitals and other institutions, the room temperature of public buildings after heating shall not exceed 19 degrees Celsius, and the heating of entrances, corridors and foyers can be completely turned off; private swimming pool heating and night lighting of store facades are prohibited as appropriate. ; public buildings and monuments will no longer be lit at night for purely aesthetic reasons. In addition, the German government intends to prioritize coal and oil cargoes in rail transport, which means longer waiting times for passengers. According to the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Protection, the approved energy-saving measures could save German households, private companies and the public sector about 10.8 billion euros over two years.

Risk sentiment persists, markets intensify recession

The above information is provided by special analysts and is for reference only. CM Trade does not guarantee the accuracy, timeliness and completeness of the information content, so you should not place too much reliance on the information provided. CM Trade is not a company that provides financial advice, and only provides services of the nature of execution of orders. Readers are advised to seek relevant investment advice on their own. Please see our full disclaimer.

Free Access
Daily Trading Strategy
Download Now

CM Trade Mobile Application

Economics Calendar

More

You May Also Like

CM Trade

下載APP領取贈金

下載

風險情緒持續 市場加劇衰退

2022-08-26
304
        英國零售商報告稱8月份銷售額意外躍升
  英國工業聯合會數據顯示,8月英國零售商錄得9個月來最強勁的月度銷售,這與此前銷售下滑預期不一致,因家庭生活成本下降。英國8月CBI零售銷售差值從-4躍升至37。英國工業聯合會首席經濟學家MartinSartorius表示,雖然零售額在截至8月的一年裏恢復了穩定增長,但企業仍對未來三個月的商業形勢感到悲觀,這種悲觀情緒反映在零售商的投資意願上,它們的投資意願仍然非常消極。
  
  風險情緒改善和英國國債收益率上升未能支撐英鎊
  經濟學家認為英鎊未能從近期風險情緒改善和英國國債收益率上升獲支撐走強,這反映了對經濟增長擔憂仍使英鎊承壓。英國央行更加限制性的基準利率也將加劇經濟低迷。即使英國央行加息,預計基準利率仍遠低於通脹率,且實際利率仍為負值,相對缺乏吸引力。

風險情緒持續  市場加劇衰退
  
  美國主要增長指標現分歧,加劇經濟衰退辯論
  政府衡量美國經濟增長的主要指標在2022年上半年指向不同方向,這為有關經濟健康狀況的進一步辯論提供了基礎。美國商務部週四公佈的數據顯示,經通脹調整的二季度GDP折合年率下降0.6%。不過,另一個不太為人所知的衡量經濟增長的官方指標國內總收入(GDI)在第二季度增長1.4%,第一季度增長1.8%。該數據通過計算生產商品和服務產生的所有收入來衡量經濟活動,比如薪酬和公司利潤。
  
  鮑威爾可能暗示進一步收緊政策  
  美聯儲主席鮑威爾可能會在週五的傑克遜霍爾研討會上發表鷹派的論調。美國的通脹仍處於高位,預計在未來很長一段時間內仍將高於目標水準,而目前的工資漲幅與美聯儲遏制物價上漲的目標非常不匹配。在貨幣政策方面,只有一件事可以做,那就是進一步收緊。預計將看到一位央行行長不僅隨時準備開火,而且還會連番加息。
  
  美銀:美聯儲降息有規律可循
  美聯儲將在達到終端利率6個月之後降息,即2023年9月前降息。在1995年的利率週期中,美聯儲維持在終端利率逾5個月,而在貨幣政策更不穩定的80年代,美聯儲更快轉向。美聯儲在通脹下行時維持利率不變的規律是:PCE年率不低於2%,否則美聯儲就有轉向降息的可能(上世紀80年代早期例外)。而在1984年後(除2018年利率週期),就業增長在美聯儲降息之前就已經降溫。
  
  高盛前瞻美聯儲9月利率決議:料將加息50個基點
  我行預計美聯儲將在9月利率決策會議上加息50個基點,11月和12月分別再加息25個基點,儘管持續的通脹壓力將在下半年對美聯儲政策利率路徑構成上行風險。預計美聯儲終端利率在3.25-3.5%。財政政策方面,預計最近簽署成法律的財政協議只會產生非常溫和的淨財政影響

風險情緒持續  市場加劇衰退
  
  高盛展望美國經濟:明年陷入衰退可能性為30%
  預計2022年第四季度美國GDP將同比萎縮0.1%,主要受到巨大的財政拖累和金融環境緊縮的負面影響。此外,預計美國明年陷入衰退的可能性為30%,未來兩年陷入衰退的可能性約為50%,不過任何衰退都可能是溫和的。預計到2022年底,核心PCE將降至4.3%,但供應鏈中斷、工資增速加快和住房支出通脹強化可能會使通脹長期維持高位。預計到今年底,失業率將上升至3.6%,2023年底和2024年底分別升至3.8%和4.0%。
  
  德國批准冬季節能政策可節省約108億歐元
  面對能源短缺,德國政府24日批准冬季節能措施,限制公共建築供暖和用電,以期將天然氣用量減少2%。依據新規,自9月1日起,除醫院等機構外,公共建築供暖後室溫不得超過19攝氏度,可完全關閉入口、走廊和門廳供暖;視情況禁止私人游泳池供暖和店鋪外立面夜間照明;公共建築和紀念碑將不再純粹出於審美需求而夜間亮燈。另外,德國政府在鐵路運輸方面擬優先考慮煤炭和石油貨物,這意味著乘客候車時間將延長。依據德國聯邦經濟和氣候保護部說法,此次獲批的節能措施可能在兩年內為德國家庭、私企和公共部門節省約108億歐元。

風險情緒持續  市場加劇衰退

以上信息為特約分析師提供,僅供參考。 CM Trade 併不保證信息內容之准確性、實時性和完整性, 所以您不應過於依賴提供之信息。CM Trade併非提供財務建議的公司,亦只提供執行指令性質之服務。 我們建議讀者自行尋求相關投資建議。請參閱我們完整的免責宣告。

免費獲取
每日交易策略
立即下載

CM Trade 手機應用程式

財經日歷

更多

熱門文章