CM Trade

Download APP to receive bonus

GET

CPI upset, the market changed overnight

2022-09-14
301

Global financial markets ushered in a huge shock overnight. The U.S. CPI data in August was unexpectedly unexpected, and inflationary pressures reappeared, supporting the Fed's continued hawkish expectations. The impact on the major assets of the market is as follows:

The US dollar index rose sharply, approaching the 110 mark during the session, and finally closed up 1.49%

The decline in non-U.S. currencies expanded. GBP/USD, EUR/USD, and AUD/USD all fell by more than 1%, and USD/JPY stood at the 144 mark;

In terms of U.S. bonds, the yield spread between U.S. 2-year and 10-year Treasury bonds widened to 24.7 basis points;

Spot gold fell below the US$1,700 mark, and fell more than US$30 after the release of the CPI data, while spot silver fell by more than US$0.3 in the short-term, and fell by more than 1% in the day;

Risk assets tumbled across the board. U.S. stock index futures continued to fall. Nasdaq futures fell more than 3%, S&P 500 futures fell 2.3%, and Dow futures fell 1.8%. The US and Brent oil fell by more than $1 in the short term, erasing all intraday gains;

In terms of cryptocurrencies, Bitcoin fell 5%, and Ethereum fell more than 6%.

CPI upset, the market changed overnight

Why does this CPI data have a huge impact on the market?

First of all, the latest U.S. CPI data showed that the U.S. unseasonably adjusted CPI annual rate recorded 8.3% in August, exceeding market expectations of 8.1% and the previous value of 8.5%. The U.S. unseasonably adjusted core CPI recorded an annual rate of 6.3% in August, the highest since March 2022. The U.S. core CPI in August was not seasonally adjusted at an annual rate of 6.3%, expected to be 6.10%, and the previous value of 5.90%.

The CPI data released this time was only 0.2 percentage points higher than expected, and it continued to fall, but the market reaction was even bigger than the previous data that exceeded expectations. There are two main reasons:

  • The housing sub-item of CPI has risen sharply this time, and housing prices tend to have strong rigidity. Historically, there have been few negative values compared with the previous month, so it will have a profound impact on the subsequent CPI data, which means that inflation will fall more slowly than expected. 
  • On the 22nd of this month, the Fed's interest rate decision will be ushered in. Before that, the market still had a "lucky mentality" about whether to raise interest rates by 75 basis points. Expectations of rate hikes have been extended.


CPI intensifies panic of violent interest rate hikes

The August CPI data is the most important data during the "silent period" of the Fed's September FOMC meeting. Fed swaps fully price in a 75bps rate hike by the Fed in September after the surprise CPI data. Fed swaps show a terminal rate above 4.15% in early 2023. The decline in U.S. interest rate swaps reflected rising bets for a bigger Fed rate hike, with the federal funds rate expected to hit a range of 4%-4.25% next year. Fed rate funds futures are now pricing in a 19% chance of a 100 basis point rate hike and an 81% chance of a 75 basis point rate hike at the September meeting.

After the release of the US CPI data for August, the market is almost convinced that the Fed will raise interest rates by 75 basis points next week. Wall Street then began to weigh the possibility that the Fed could make a more aggressive statement, with expectations for a 100-basis-point rate hike being the focus of market discussions. Economists at Nomura Securities raised their rate hike forecast to 100 basis points from 75 basis points. Former U.S. Treasury Secretary Summers believes the Fed will choose to raise interest rates by 100 basis points in September instead of raising interest rates by 50 basis points.

CPI upset, the market changed overnight

Wall Street Journal reporter Nick Timiraos, known as the "New Federal Reserve News Agency," wrote in an article that U.S. inflation picked up last month, giving the Fed a reason to raise interest rates by at least 75 basis points at next week's meeting, adding to the prospect of sharp rate hikes in the coming months. possibility.

Fed officials have signaled they are ready to raise interest rates by 75 basis points for the third straight time next week, even if inflation cools as many economists expect. But the latest inflation data make it harder for the Fed to reduce rate hikes this fall and could dampen the debate over a 50-basis-point rate hike next week. After the article was published, the probability of the Fed raising interest rates by 100 basis points in September rose to 47% from 22%.

According to the rhythm of the Fed’s rate hike, considering that there is only about a week left before the interest rate decision on September 22, and the Fed officials have never clearly stated that they support a 100 basis point rate hike, the current rate hike of 75 basis points is still a high probability event. As for whether to add 75 basis points or 50 basis points in November, we still need to observe the economic and inflation data from September to October, but if only 50 basis points are added in November, there is a high possibility of adding 50 basis points in December, and there is a high probability that in February next year At one point, 25 basis points, after which rate hikes will stop, and cuts may begin in the second half of next year. Therefore, November will be a key window to observe whether the Fed's policy stance changes, and the prices of various assets are likely to remain volatile in the next two months.

CPI upset, the market changed overnight

The trend of the gold weekly level, the double top is already under construction, combined with time point analysis, there is a possibility of breaking the neckline at $1680 from September to November. The Fed's interest rate hike will determine whether to form a head structure, and at the same time Determine the direction of the market trend in the second half of the year.

The above information is provided by special analysts and is for reference only. CM Trade does not guarantee the accuracy, timeliness and completeness of the information content, so you should not place too much reliance on the information provided. CM Trade is not a company that provides financial advice, and only provides services of the nature of execution of orders. Readers are advised to seek relevant investment advice on their own. Please see our full disclaimer.

Free Access
Daily Trading Strategy
Download Now

CM Trade Mobile Application

Economics Calendar

More

You May Also Like

CM Trade

下載APP領取贈金

下載

CPI爆冷,市場一夜大變天

2022-09-14
492

隔夜全球金融市場迎來巨震,美國8月CPI數據爆冷超預期,通脹壓力重現,支撐了美聯儲繼續鷹派的預期。對市場各大資產影響如下:

美元指數大幅拉升,盤中一度逼近110關口,最終收漲1.49%

非美貨幣跌幅擴大,英鎊兌美元、歐元兌美元、澳元兌美元均跌超1%,美元兌日元站上144關口;

美債方面,美國2年期和10年期國債收益率差擴大至24.7個基點;

現貨黃金則跌破1700美元大關,在CPI數據公佈後累計跌超30美元,現貨白銀短線下挫超0.3美元,日內跌超1%;

風險資產全線重挫。美股股指期貨持續下挫,納指期貨跌超3%,標普500指數期貨跌2.3%,道指期貨跌1.8%。美、布油短線走低超1美元,抹去日內全部漲幅;

加密貨幣方面,比特幣大跌5%,以太坊跌超6%。

 CPI爆冷,市場一夜大變天

本次CPI數據為何對市場影響巨大?

首先最新公佈的美國CPI數據顯示,美國8月未季調CPI年率錄得8.3%,超出市場預期的8.1%,前值為8.5%。美國8月未季調核心CPI年率錄得6.3%,為2022年3月以來新高。美國8月未季調核心CPI年率錄得6.3%,預期為6.10%,前值為5.90%。

本次公佈的CPI數據僅比預期高了0.2個百分點,且依然延續回落,但市場反應卻比之前更超預期的數據還要大,主要原因有兩點:

  • 本次CPI住宅分項大幅上漲,而住宅價格往往具有較強的剛性,歷史上環比極少出現負值,因此將對後續CPI數據產生深遠影響,這意味著通脹回落將比預期的更緩慢;
  • 本月22日將迎來美聯儲利率決議,此前市場對是否加息75基點仍存在“僥倖心理”,但本次數據無疑敲定了了加息75個基點的預期,並且對後續較長時間的加息預期都有所延長。


CPI加劇暴力加息恐慌

8月CPI數據是美聯儲在9月FOMC會議“噤聲期”期間最重要的數據。在超乎意外的CPI數據公佈後,美聯儲掉期交易完全定價美聯儲9月加息75個基點。美聯儲掉期交易顯示2023年初終端利率高於4.15%。美國利率掉期下跌反映出對美聯儲更大幅度加息的押注上升,預計明年聯邦基金利率將達到4%-4.25%的範圍。而聯邦利率基金期貨目前預計,在9月會議上,美聯儲加息100個基點的可能性為19%,加息75個基點的機率為81%。

美國8月CPI數據出爐後,市場幾乎確信,美聯儲將在下週加息75個基點。華爾街隨後開始權衡美聯儲可能會發表更激進聲明的可能性,加息100個基點預期成市場討論焦點。野村證券經濟學家將加息預期從75個基點上調至100個基點。美國前財長薩默斯認為美聯儲9月份會選擇加息100個基點,而不是加息50個基點。

 CPI爆冷,市場一夜大變天

有“新美聯儲通訊社”之稱的華爾街日報記者Nick Timiraos撰文稱,美國上個月通脹升溫,使美聯儲有理由在下週的會議上至少加息75個基點,並增加了未來數月大幅加息的可能性。

文章稱,美聯儲官員曾暗示,他們準備在下周連續第三次加息75個基點,即使通脹如許多經濟學家預期的那樣有所降溫。但最新的通脹數據使美聯儲在今秋減少加息幅度的難度加大,而且可能會打壓有關下週加息50個基點的爭論。文章發表後,對美聯儲9月加息100個基點預期的可能性從22%一度升至47%。

按照美聯儲加息節奏推演,考慮到目前距離9月22日利率決議僅剩一周左右的時間,而此前美聯儲官員從未明確表態支持加息100基點,所以當前加息75基點仍是大概率事件,而11月份加75基點還是50基點仍需觀察9-10月的經濟和通脹數據,但若11月份僅加50基點,則12月有較大可能也加50基點,而明年2月大概率還有一次25基點,之後將停止加息,並可能在明年下半年開始降息。因此,11月份將是觀察美聯儲政策立場是否轉向的關鍵窗口,未來兩個月各類資產價格仍有可能維持大幅波動。

 CPI爆冷,市場一夜大變天

黃金周線級別走勢,雙頂已在構建中,結合時間點分析,9月-11月期間均有下破頸線位置1680美元的可能,美聯儲的加息動向將決定是否形成頭部結構,同時決定下半年的行情法方向走勢。

以上信息為特約分析師提供,僅供參考。 CM Trade 併不保證信息內容之准確性、實時性和完整性, 所以您不應過於依賴提供之信息。CM Trade併非提供財務建議的公司,亦只提供執行指令性質之服務。 我們建議讀者自行尋求相關投資建議。請參閱我們完整的免責宣告。

免費獲取
每日交易策略
立即下載

CM Trade 手機應用程式

財經日歷

更多

熱門文章