CM Trade

Download APP to receive bonus

GET

An analysis of the Hong Kong Hang Seng Index! Hang Seng Index trend?

2022-09-07
466

Hang Seng Index Introduction


Image source: ft

Hang Seng Index Background

There are stock markets around the world An index that systematically reflects the overall dynamics of the stock market, and Hong Kong is no exception. Hong Kong's Hang Seng Index (Hang Seng Index) is not only an indicator of the overall market trend of Hong Kong stocks, but also one of the world's most important indices, which is implicated in the global economy and major indices. For this reason, international investors are also very concerned about the Hang Seng Index. Internationally, the Hang Seng Index is often referred to as HSI (^HSI).

Hang Seng Index History

Hang Seng Index was founded in 1964 by Guan Shiguang, head of research at Hang Seng Bank. At that time, the Hang Seng Index was not disclosed to the public and was only used for internal reference. It was not published until 1969 after it was compiled by the Hang Seng Index Co., Ltd., a subsidiary of Hong Kong Hang Seng Bank. With the rapid development of Hong Kong's economy in the past few decades, it has become the largest financial center in Asia, and the Hang Seng Index has also been favored by international investors. Today, Hong Kong's Hang Seng Index, like Japan's Nikkei 225 Index, is internationally recognized as a representative index of Asian financial markets.

The Hang Seng Index has a history of more than half a century. When it was first launched, it was only quoted once a day, but now it has been quoted every two seconds. The Hang Seng Index Company has also compiled and managed a series of indices in the Hong Kong Stock Exchange from the calculation and compilation of the Hang Seng Index to the present, such as the Hang Seng Technology Index and the Hang Seng Mainland China Composite Index.

What are the constituent stocks of the Hang Seng Index

Number of constituent stocks

The constituent stocks of the Hang Seng Index are basically all on the main board of the Hong Kong Stock Exchange Listed company stocks with the largest market capitalization, the most active trading volume, and the most representative industry. Hang Seng Indexes conducts quarterly reviews to make adjustments to a range of indices. The number of Hang Seng Index constituents will increase from 69 to 73, effective September 5, 2022. The number of constituents is targeted to reach 80 constituents by mid-2022, with a final target of 100 constituents.

Constituent Qualifications

In order to become a candidate constituent stock, each company stock must meet certain qualifications. For example, a new constituent stock must Pass the turnover test in at least 10 months in the last 12 months, and pass the liquidity test in the last 3 months. Existing constituents have another set of prerequisites.

That said, it's not enough to be listed on the HKEX and have a lot of trading volume. In addition to the turnover rate and liquidity just mentioned, there are many other complex conditions that need to be met. In addition, the special purpose acquisition of company shares is not eligible for inclusion in the Hang Seng Index Series even if all conditions are met.

Constituent stock calculation method and stock selection principles

In general, stock selection principles are industry group representation, market capitalization, turnover, and financial performance. Constituents are currently limited to 10% to 15%, with an ultimate target of 10%. After considering the above factors, the Hang Seng Index Advisory Committee will finally decide the constituent stocks on a quarterly basis.

Key factors affecting the trend of the Hang Seng Index

Hong Kong's own economic conditions

Since it is an important indicator representing the Hong Kong stock market and economic conditions , of course, the biggest key factor affecting the trend of the Hang Seng Index is Hong Kong's own economic environment.

Influence on the Mainland Market

The Hong Kong Stock Exchange includes many Chinese companies. Naturally, Chinese companies are also included in the Hang Seng Index. Chinese-funded enterprises that can basically meet the listing requirements of the Hong Kong Stock Exchange are usually very large enterprises in the mainland. Therefore, the economic environment of the mainland market and changes in various industries will also have a certain impact on the Hang Seng Index.

In addition, the mainland stock market also guides the Hang Seng Index to a certain extent. In the past, when the mainland market fell sharply due to the Sino-US trade dispute, the trend of the Hang Seng Index at that time also corresponded to the mainland stock market.

In addition, mainland investors have become increasingly active in the Hong Kong stock market over the past decade, so the market sentiment of mainland investors has also become an important factor that cannot be ignored. Since the "connection" between China and Hong Kong in 2014, a large amount of RMB has flowed into the Hong Kong stock market. According to data from the Hong Kong Stock Exchange, the transaction value of RMB on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange in August 2022 is close to 1 trillion yuan, and its influence on Hong Kong stocks cannot be ignored.

The impact of the US stock index

People who usually pay attention to the Hang Seng Index may have observed that the opening trend of the Hang Seng There is a certain degree of correlation between the direction of the major index stocks. For a long time, many professional traders and investors have used the US stock index as a reference indicator for the trend of the Hang Seng Index.

This is actually because the Hong Kong stock market has been favored by foreign and institutional investors in the past. The risk control of these large investors and the general environment in the market will prompt them to take action. However, after the interconnection between China and Hong Kong, mainland capital has begun to replace foreign capital as the main driving force affecting the trend of Hong Kong stocks. Now Hong Kong stocks are less and less affected by the US stock index, but they still have a certain impact on the opening trend.

International Events

Hang Seng Index, as one of the world's major indices, suffers along with other major indices when major international emergencies occur. . So how big does it have to be to be big? Generally speaking, as long as it is so big that the major U.S. indexes fall in response, the Hang Seng Index falls sharply next.

Renminbi exchange rate fluctuations

The impact of the Renminbi exchange rate on the Hang Seng Index is divided into two parts: First, the fluctuation of the Renminbi exchange rate actually reflects to a certain extent Whether the market is optimistic about the growth of China's economy, so this returns to the speculation on the prospects of China's economic environment. Second: In terms of market performance in the past few years, when the renminbi appreciates, more renminbi flows southward into the Hong Kong stock market, while when the renminbi depreciates, funds flow out of Hong Kong. It can be seen that mainland investors have the habit of using the Hong Kong stock market to preserve the value of the RMB, which also provides a clue for the trend of the Hong Kong stock market.


Image source: aljazeera

Is it a good time to invest in the Hang Seng Index?

Invest v.s trading

< p>Before deciding when to enter the market, one of the most important questions investors need to ask is the question to themselves: "Am I investing, or am I trading?". Everyone may have heard that the uncle of a friend of a friend bought a certain stock decades ago, and now the value of this stock has risen. This is actually the ultimate goal of investment. Investors need to be psychologically prepared. The money invested now may take more than ten or twenty years to bear fruit. With this mental preparation, the only decision point for entering the market is the view on the future global and Greater China economic environment.

In the case of transactions, that's another story.

With the recovery of the global economy, the restart of the production chain and the more active global business activities, Hong Kong, as an important financial and commercial center in Asia, must also ride on the global environment. It is good, but it has also dropped all the way to the point where it can start to pick up cheap prices. The future medium and long-term performance is worth looking forward to.

Hang Seng Index Historical Chart & Analysis

Historical Trend

It can be seen from the Hang Seng Index 20-year chart, The Hang Seng Index fell slightly after reaching a new two-decade high in 2018, before recovering in 2021 and all the way down. According to the historical data of the Hang Seng Index, the Hang Seng Index has reached a ten-year low at this time, and the upside has also expanded.


Image source: FINANCE.YAHOO.COM

2022 Hang Seng Index Trend Forecast

Positive to Go

Although the Hang Seng Index has fallen to its lowest level since mid-March, the performance of the major Asian stock indexes is relatively backward. Market experts believe that this is mainly due to the uncertain market conditions.

Nevertheless, Hong Kong stocks are not without things to look forward to. Fang Xinghai, vice chairman of the China Securities Regulatory Commission, said recently that the China Securities Regulatory Commission will launch a new plan with Hong Kong’s financial management department and other relevant departments to expand the subject of the Shanghai-Shenzhen-Hong Kong Stock Connect and include foreign companies listed in Hong Kong as the subject of the Shanghai-Shenzhen-Hong Kong Stock Connect.

The Shanghai-Shenzhen-Hong Kong Stock Connect will have a very significant impact on Hong Kong stocks after the launch. Generally, investors in mainland China usually have limited ways to invest in foreign companies. Therefore, foreign companies listed in Hong Kong will be included in Shanghai Stock Connect. The Shenzhen-Hong Kong Stock Connect target will inevitably attract more mainland funds.

Summary of ways to invest in the Hang Seng Index

Hang Seng Subsidiaries and ETFs

The most direct way to invest in the Hang Seng Index is through Although it is the most direct way for Hong Kong and US brokers to purchase constituent stocks or index ETFs, it may be time-consuming and laborious to open an account across borders.

Hang Seng Index Futures

For those who do not have a foreign brokerage account, investing in Hang Seng Index Futures or Hang Seng Index Night Futures is definitely the best way to convenient way. Although you can also invest through foreign futures dealers, you can also use domestic re-entrustment to invest. Although domestic re-entrustment is convenient and the cost is relatively high, if there is a need for frequent trading, it is best to choose a foreign futures broker, which also has advantages in terms of trading volume and liquidity.

Hang Seng Index Contracts for Difference (CFD)

In recent years, CFDs have become more and more popular with global investors who want to invest in Hong Kong Hang Seng Index Investors can also consider using CFD to operate. The biggest feature of CFD is margin trading. Investors can expand their profits and increase the utilization rate of investment funds. Margin trading, also known as CFD, is leveraged trading, so petty bourgeois can also enter the market, and the investment threshold is lower than other financial instruments and asset trading.

Summary

Investing in indices to see the overall environment

Whether you are investing in the Hang Seng Index or other stock market indices, you should first What we need to do is to understand the economic environment of the country and region where we are located, and to act according to our own economic situation and economic goals.

Comparison of different investment methods and fees

There are various ways to invest in the Hang Seng Index, learn about each method and the brokerage fee system to find the most suitable one It also becomes more important to invest in yourself, and in the least expensive way. This not only increases returns, but also reduces losses. After all, the fees involved in investing are also part of the cost of investing.

The above information is provided by special analysts and is for reference only. CM Trade does not guarantee the accuracy, timeliness and completeness of the information content, so you should not place too much reliance on the information provided. CM Trade is not a company that provides financial advice, and only provides services of the nature of execution of orders. Readers are advised to seek relevant investment advice on their own. Please see our full disclaimer.

Free Access
Daily Trading Strategy
Download Now

CM Trade Mobile Application

Economics Calendar

More

You May Also Like

CM Trade

下載APP領取贈金

下載

香港恆生指數一文分析!恆生指數走勢?2022 恆生指數漲 or 跌?

2022-09-07
485

全球各國股市皆有一個系統性反映該股市整體動態的指數,香港也不例外。香港的恆生指數(HangSengIndex)不但為港股整體市場走向的指標,同時也是全球最主要的指數之一,對全球經濟及各大指數都有牽連關係。也因如此,國際投資者對恆生指數也非常關注。國際上經常將恆生指數簡稱為HSI(^HSI)。

恆生指數歷史

恒生指數在1964年由恒生銀行研究部負責人關士光創立。當時恆生指數並沒有對外公開,只用來作內部參考,一直到1969年才由附屬香港恒生銀行的恒生指數有限公司編制後對外發表。隨著香港經濟在過去數十年來快速發展,一舉成為亞洲最大金融中心,恆生指數也大受國際投資者青睞。今日,香港恒生指數已經與日本的日經225指數一樣,受國際公認為亞洲金融市場的代表性指數。

恒生指數已有超過半個世紀的歷史,剛推出的時候,每日僅報價一次,現在已經達成每兩秒報價。而恆生指數公司也從計算編制恆生指數到現在編制管理了許多香港交易所內的一系列指數,比如恆生科技指數以及恆生中國內地綜合指數等等。


图片来源:ft

恆生指數成分股有哪些

成分股數量

恒生指數成分股基本上都是香港交易所主板中上市、市值最大、交易量最活躍、且最具有行業代表性的公司股。恆生指數公司每季度進行檢討後對一系列指數做出調整。恆生指數最新成分股數量將由69隻增到73隻,於2022年9月5日起生效。成分股數量目標為在2022年年中前達到80隻成分股,最終達成固定100隻成分股。

成分股資格

要成為候選成分股,每個公司股都要符合一定的資格條件,比如說,新成分股必須要在最近12個月內最少10個月通過換手率測試,並且在最近3個月皆通過流動性測試。而現有的成分股則有另外一套必須條件。

也就是說,單單是在香港交易所中上市且擁有大量交易量是不夠的。除了剛剛提到的換手率及流動性,還需要符合另外許多複雜條件。除此之外,特殊目的收購公司股就算是符合所有條件,也不具入選恆生指數系列資格。

成分股計算方法以及選股原則

一般而言,選股的原則為行業組別代表性,市值,成交額,以及財務表現。目前成分股比重限制在10%到15%之前,最終目標為10%。在經過以上因素考量後,最後會由恆生指數顧問委員會決定每季成分股。


圖片来源:HSI.COM.HK

影響恆生指數走勢的關鍵因素

香港自身經濟狀況

既然是代表香港股市及經濟狀況的重要指標,影響恆生指數走勢的最大關鍵當然就是香港自身經濟大環境。

內地市場影響

香港交易所中包括許多中資企業,自然而然的,恆生指數中也少不了中資企業的身影。基本上能夠符合香港交易所上市要求的中資企業,在內地中通常也是極大企業,因此內地市場的經濟環境以及各產業的變動對恆生指數也會有一定的影響。

另外,內地股市在一定程度上也對恆生指數有指導方向,過去在內地市場因為中美貿易爭端而大幅走低時,恆生指數當時的走勢也與內地股市相應。

除此之外,內地投資人在過去十年來越來越踴躍參與香港股市,因此內地投資人的市場情緒也成為一個不可忽視的重要因素。自2014年中港「互聯聯通」後,大量人民幣流入香港股市。根據香港交易所數據,2022年8月的人民幣在香港交易所得交易金額逼近10,000億元,其對港股的影響力不容忽視。

美國股指影響

一般平常有在注意恆生指數的人可能都有觀察到,恆生指數的開盤走勢和前一天晚上美國各大指股的走向有一定相關度。長久以來,許多專業交易者和投資人都會把美股指數當作恆生指數走勢的參考指標。

這其實是因為香港股市過去深受外資及機構投資者喜愛,這些大戶的風險控制及所處市場中的大環境都會引響他們出手。但在中港互聯後,內地資金已經開始取代外資成為影響港股走勢的主要動力,現在的港股受美股指數影響已經越來越小,但在開盤走勢上依舊有一定的影響。

國際事件

恆生指數身為全球主要指數之一,在國際上發生重大突發事件時也隨著其他重大指數一起遭殃。那麼要多重大才算重大呢?通常來說,只要重大到美國重要指數應聲下跌時,接下來就換恆生指數大跌。

人民幣匯價波動

人民幣匯價對恆生指數的影響分為兩個部分:第一,人民幣匯價波動其實在一定程度上反映出市場對中國經濟的成長是否樂觀,所以這又回到了對中國經濟大環境前景的推判。第二:在過去幾年來市場表現上,人民幣升值的時候,就有更多的人民幣南下流入香港股市,而人民幣貶值時,資金則從香港流出。由此可見,內地投資人有利用香港股市來為人民幣進行保值的習慣,也因此為香港股市走勢提供了一個線索。


圖片來源:aljazeera

現在適合投資恆生指數嗎

投資v.s交易

在決定進場時機之前,投資人最需要問的一個問題是對自己的問題:「我是投資,還是交易?」。大家可能都有聽說過朋友的朋友的舅舅在幾十年前買了某股,現在身價托了這一股的福水漲船高。這其實就是投資的最終目的,投資人需要有心理準備,現在投下的金錢可能要等十幾二十年才會開花結果。有這個心理準備之後,那麼進場時機的唯一一個取決點就是對未來全球以及大中華地區經濟環境的看法。

交易的話,那就另當別論了。

隨著全球經濟復甦,生產鏈重新啟動,全球商業活動更加活躍,香港身為亞洲重要的金融和商業中心,想必也搭上全球大環境的順風車,雖然近期表現不佳,但也一路下探到可以開始撿便宜價位,未來中長期表現值得期待。

恆生指數的歷史走勢圖&分析

歷史走勢

從恆生指數20年圖中可以看出,恆生指數在2018年達到二十年內新高後稍微下跌,在2021年回升後一路下探。根據恆生指數的歷史數據看來,此時恆生指數已經達到十年新低,上升空間也跟著拓展。


圖片来源:FINANCE.YAHOO.COM

2022年恆生指數的走勢預測

蓄勢待發

雖然目前恒生指數已跌至三月中旬以來低位,在亞洲主要股指中表現算是比較落後,市場上專家認為這主要是受市場狀況不明朗所致。

儘管如此,港股也不是完全沒有可以期待的事情。大陸證監會副主席方星海近期表示,證監將會和香港金融管理部門以及其他相關部門推出新方案,擴大滬深港通股票標的,將香港上市的外國公司納入滬深港通標的。

滬深港通在啟動後對港股的影響非常的重大,一般中國內地的投資人平常對國外公司進行投資的方式也很有限,所以,將香港上市的外國公司納入滬深港通標的後必然會吸引更多內地基金。

投資恆生指數的方式匯總

立即註冊,0佣金交易

恆生成分股及ETF

目前投資恆生指數最直接的方式就是透過港美券商來購買成分股或是指數ETF,雖然是最直接的方式,但跨境開帳戶可能會比較費時費力。

恆生指數期貨

對於沒有國外證券商帳戶的人來說,透過投資恆生指數期貨或是恆生指數夜期絕對是最方便的方式。雖然一樣可以透過國外期貨商來進行投資,不過也可以利用國內複委託來進行投資。國內複委託雖然方便,費用也相對較高,所以如果是有頻繁交易需求的話,最好還是選擇國外期貨商,在交易量和流動性方面也較有優勢。

恆生指數差價合約(CFD)

近年來,差價合約(CFD)越來越受全球投資人歡迎,希望投資香港恒生指數的投資人也可以考慮使用CFD來操作。CFD最大的特點就是保證金交易,投資人能夠以小博大,放大收益,並提高投資資金的使用率。保證金交易又稱CFD是槓桿交易,所以小資族也可以進場,投資門檻比其他金融工具及資產交易低。

總結

投資指數看大環境

不管是投資恆生指數,或是其他股市指數,其實最先該下功夫了解的是所處國家地區的經濟大環境,根據自身經濟情況以及經濟目標出手。

比較不同投資方式及費用

投資恆生指數有各種方式,好好了解每一個方式以及券商收費制度來找出一個最適合自己,以及費用最低的方式來進行投資也變得更重要。如此一來,不僅能增進報酬率,也可降低損失。畢竟,投資所涉及的費用也是投資成本的一部分。

以上信息為特約分析師提供,僅供參考。 CM Trade 併不保證信息內容之准確性、實時性和完整性, 所以您不應過於依賴提供之信息。CM Trade併非提供財務建議的公司,亦只提供執行指令性質之服務。 我們建議讀者自行尋求相關投資建議。請參閱我們完整的免責宣告。

免費獲取
每日交易策略
立即下載

CM Trade 手機應用程式

財經日歷

更多

熱門文章